My Big Fat Southern European Result

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Big Fat Southern European Result

I'm new to FTDNA, but grateful for the clues I've picked up so far from my matches.

Lots of people have surprising MyOrigins results, but in my case I have faith they mean something--even though I still have questions.

Trace amounts of Finnish and Central Asian, so I'm tossing them out

31% British Isles--not shocking
    31% Scandanavian--right, who doesn't have some of that?

The shocker: 32% Southern European. . .Wha? No such surnames, family history, nada, zip, bupkes! My mother's line has a number of German-sounding names we can trace back to Pennsylvania, but nothing shows up in Western, Central or Eastern Europe on MyOrigins. I realize these maps reflect much earlier ancestry, but unless I'm mistaken, my results seem to indicate virtually no intermarriage with earlier German populations are evident in my DNA.

In part, my Southern European results read as follows:

"Many Jews were brought from the Middle East to Europe during
    the Roman conquest. More recently, in the 15th and 16th
    centuries, these Jews, who were forced into Catholicism during the Inquisition, ended up sailing with the Spanish and
    Portuguese and participated in the discovery and colonization
    of the Americas."

Something about the story of Judaism was familiar. My mother's account--she is no longer living--of her maternal family included hints that her mother was thought to be of Jewish ancestry. Although she did not profess to be Jewish, she was well-educated in her day. She learned Hebrew and taught it at the graduate level to seminary students. I had studied Hebrew in turn, and have found the study rewarding.

Thanks to an unusual surname on my mother's maternal line, my g-g-g-grandmother Uptigraff, I found a remote match to an FT DNA user who gave me more information about this line. They immigrated to Pennsylvania at the invitation of William Penn.