Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

For Meaningful Match, Total All Centimorgans, or Consider Only Biggest Segment?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For Meaningful Match, Total All Centimorgans, or Consider Only Biggest Segment?

Hello. I am brand new at genetic genealogy. Yesterday, was looking at FF atDNA matches -- two sisters -- with whom I also share an X-match. Used chromosome browser and was wondering: In considering whether a match (non-X or X DNA) is meaningful or random, are we adding up the total number of centimorgans we share with someone (all segments/blocks), or looking only at the "longest" or "biggest" segment? Is the match meaningful if all centimorgans add up to more than 10, for example? Yesterday, I had one segment at about 4, one at about 9, and many smaller. Insight appreciated. Thanks!

FTDNA includes very small segments for your matches, where the other companies do not. The general advice is that it's best to only regard matches who share at least 7 cM and above (for chromosomes 1-22), so if you add up all those segments which are 7 cM and above, you will get a more reasonable amount. Many times this will leave only the largest segment, but not always. For the example you give, you would cast out the the 4 cM segment and the many smaller segments, leaving only the 9 cM segment (based upon what you wrote).

Your Family Finder match list shows the total amount of cM shared (column "Shared cM") with each match, and also the "Longest Block" column (longest segment). See "Family Finder - Matches" in the FTDNA Learning Center for more information.