Only 4 atdna matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Only 4 atdna matches

My cousin and I have shared passwords and user names, so we can view each other's results.
    I'm at a stand still - my cousins account shows only 4 matches which are ones I am an administrator for and no one else...........just 4?
    We have all uploaded our data to gedmatch. When I sign onto my cousins site he has many T (logo for ftdna) matches - excluding my 4 accounts - starting at 53 cm's and down.
    Why don't they show up on his results page on ftdna?

Did your cousin test directly at FTDNA for the FF test, or did he transfer his autosomal test from another company? As I understand transferred tests don't get the more distant matches that tests run directly by FTDNA will get. Could this possibly be the reason for your cousins lack of matches here at FTDNA?

Comment

Could be

Yes he did, but then so did I. We both uploaded from Ancestry. I have 405 matches. could there be another reason.

Comment

Did you or your cousin check his Account Settings? He may not have them set to allow all matches to show.

You can do this by going to his name in the upper right of any page in his account, hovering over the name, and selecting "Account Settings." This will put you on the Personal Profile Settings page, where you should click on the "Match and Email Settings" link. Once there, check the "Family Finder Matches & Email Notifications," and make sure all levels are selected as "Yes." Don't forget to click on the orange "Save" button to save your setting choices.

If that isn't the problem, then perhaps the parent of your cousin who is not a blood relative to you is of a population group that hasn't had many people who have tested their DNA.

Comment

I say you are lucky...

Originally posted by Franc View Post
          My cousin and I have shared passwords and user names, so we can view each other's results.