FF matches with family trees question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FF matches with family trees question

I only have a few FF matches that have trees, 4 to be exact. FF lists us as 2nd-4th cousins, yet when I look at their family trees and surnames, I don't see any matches with my tree.

I'm still a bit of a newb at this but I would have thought with cousin matches that close I would have recognized some names ...?

whats the total cm shared? whats the longest block?

Originally posted by matd View Post
    I only have a few FF matches that have trees, 4 to be exact. FF lists us as 2nd-4th cousins, yet when I look at their family trees and surnames, I don't see any matches with my tree.

I'm still a bit of a newb at this but I would have thought with cousin matches that close I would have recognized some names ...?

Comment

Shared CM is anywhere from 40 to 49. I see I can sort by longest block but how can I get the actual values?

Comment

whats the longest block for them and at the top left of the matches click Show Full View to see all values

Shared CM is anywhere from 40 to 49. I see I can sort by longest block but how can I get the actual values?

Comment

Gotcha! Thanks for the tip.

The first 6 matches are:

Shared CM Longest Block
          ---------------------------------
          49.0 25.0
          48.0 23.0
          46.0 21.0
          47.0 19.0
          46.0 19.0
          45.0 19.0

Comment

those are not very high but there probably 5th to distant cousins

distant being it could be back to the 1500's

Gotcha! Thanks for the tip.

The first 6 matches are:

Shared CM Longest Block
            ---------------------------------
            49.0 25.0
            48.0 23.0
            46.0 21.0
            47.0 19.0
            46.0 19.0
            45.0 19.0

Comment

I take it FTDNA's assessment of 2nd - 4th cousins is a bit off?

Comment

out of 560 matches not one fits in there assessment so yeah there way off