Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interpreting my Results

Hey guys,

I am completely new to this. I have done the Family Finder test and also in the past I did the Y-DNA12 test. I discovered that the Family Finder only goes back 6 generations I believe.

I am a bit curious of how much the Family Finder can discover. I know every human has a percentage of African, but I cannot see that percentage on my results. I will share some screenshots of my results.

Apparently I'm 40% Scandinavian, 35% British Isles and 25% Southern Europe.

I've read topics of people getting a percentage of Middle Eastern Jewish, etc. I do not seem to have anything else. I have been reading all about the groups - Scandinavian, British Isles and Southern Europe.

What do my results reveal to you?
    Attached Files

It looks like your ancestry is 1/4 southern European (Italian, Spanish or Greek/Balkan) and 3/4 northern European, with perhaps most or nearly all of it from the British Isles. How does that compare with your known ancestry?

Comment

I don't think it's entirely accurate to say that it only goes back 6 generations. The truth is, when you have a good paper trail, you will find many matches that go back further than that. But, you also may find that some people with whom you share a paper trail 5 or 6 generations back may or may not match your DNA at all. It all depends on what was inherited from each generation and what was shed along the way.

Comment

Originally posted by bradleybrand View Post
        Hey guys,

I am completely new to this. I have done the Family Finder test and also in the past I did the Y-DNA12 test. I discovered that the Family Finder only goes back 6 generations I believe.

I am a bit curious of how much the Family Finder can discover. I know every human has a percentage of African, but I cannot see that percentage on my results. I will share some screenshots of my results.