Contacting matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contacting matches

I'm somewhat new to dna testing but not to genealogy, I've been researching family history for years.
    I took the plunge and had most useful tests for myself and wife including FF. I refrained from contacting anyone through the supplied email until I had reviewed what history I had to determine if I could find a connection. I could not so I sent out a few emails for myself and one for my wife. Also received one from one of my wifes matches.
    I was frustrated at the lack of response to any of them. One of my matches was very good and I had high hopes. No response. My wife's contact at least responded however briefly, It seems some people want to look at others information but not involve themselves working with others. Why go the trouble of having a test and posting a name.
    I'm cautious due to privacy but will work with others if there's even a remote connection. I've responded several times with quite a bit of info and never got even a thank you.
    Thanks for letting me vent. If anyone has suggestions or can tell me the etiquette to follow up with I would appreciate it.
    Last edited by knightowl; 15 December 2013, 01:10 PM.

I might benefit from some etiquette suggestions also. I have made several fantastic connections with other testers, and then there are the ones that do not respond. Recently I got a response that was just rude. Any strategies for effectively communicating with the wide variety of people that test would be welcome. I sure hope that I never come across as offensive to anyone.

Comment

Contacts