Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Understanding

Hi
    I'm a complete newbie to DNA. My grandmother has done the Family Finder test, and there is a match to a man which has a possible relationship of 1st-3rd cousin. It says they are X-match. What does this mean? Does this mean he is related to my grandmother on her mother's side?

My goal is trying to find the common relation between this man and my grandmother.

What I'm thinking so far is that his X he got from his mother and my grandmother has a mix of her mother and father's X. So even though they have an x-match, there is no way of telling if this man is related to my grandmother through her mother or father.

Please let me know what further information I should share. I wasn't too sure what would or wouldn't be relevant.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by rclarke; 21st January 2017, 12:43 AM.

How long is the X-DNA segment that they share?

The best way to try to work out the relationship is by sharing what you do know about her ancestry, preferably on a tree. What I sometimes do, because some people find trees confusing, is write in the e-mail a little about the gt-grandparents of the person - such as Samuel X, born in Birmingham, England in 1848, son of X and Y, his mother died in 1850, emigrated with father and siblings to whereever in 1852 etc. It fills in the gaps more than a tree which on FtDNA just has births and deaths and nothing in between. I also (if I have that information) state any other ancestral names up that line. Names, dates (even approximate ones) and locations are the best way to work out a connection.

Little pieces of info can help - so if his mother died in 1850 and your match thought their ancestor born in 1851 could be a sibling...well, that wouldn't fit would it.

I have such an e-mail saved for each kit I manage. If I think I know where the connection lies I might add extra info about that branch.