X matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X matches

I am totally new to DNA and interpreting the results so my apologies if I mangle anything.

I have been looking at my X matches on a particular segment and categorising people who share the same or similar length and location.

My paternal half second cousin, Y and her two children, T & W [my half second cousins x 1 removed] match me on the same segment size and location however my paternal half second cousin, Y has a much smaller component at the same place than her 2 children.

I have looked three times to ensure I am not misinterpreting the results but it is consistently the same.

How and or why is this possible?

Are the children both female? If so they may have a more distant relationship via their father's line that is adding on to the length of the segment.

Are you using GEDmatch in this analysis, or a utility of the vendor such as the Chromosome Browser with Family Finder? With GEDmatch, sometimes you get into compatibility issues from the chipset used in the testing. However if you are using GEDmatch, look at the comparisons using the Graphics Bar. If you have streaks or bands of green for a full match, the segment probably is coming from being related more than one way.

Hope this helps.

Jack Wyatt

Comment

X Chromosome query

Hello Jack

The children are a boy and a girl. I am using the Chromosome Browser in Family Finder and down loading data to Excel.

Attached is the Excel report and the clipping of the diagrammatical representation of the data.

Martha
      Attached Files

Comment

Hi Martha,

That is a bit of a puzzle. Do you have the kits on GEDmatch?

Jack

Comment

Originally posted by Martha View Post
          Hello Jack

The children are a boy and a girl. I am using the Chromosome Browser in Family Finder and down loading data to Excel.

Attached is the Excel report and the clipping of the diagrammatical representation of the data.

Martha