X-DNA question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• X-DNA question

I am new to X-DNA and slowly trying to get my head around how I can use X-matches (on GedMatch) to refine my genealogical research.

My gr-grandfather was 100% Ashkenazi Jew with his roots in Poland and Russia. The remainder of my ancestry is British. Family Finder, of course, has matched me with hundreds of people with Ashkenazi ancestry, and until now I just assumed that all these matches were related to me on my gr-grandfather's line. A natural assumption, or so I thought.

A small % of these matches are also match with me on the X chromosome. They all have well documented family trees going back to Russia and Lithuania.

I recently mapped out my ancestors using the fan chart, and realised that my gr-grandfather did not pass his X chromosome to his son (my grandfather). Therefore, it is not possible for these X-matches to be on my gr-grandfather's side. Am I on the right track here?

I'm starting to contemplate that I may have another Jewish ancestor somewhere in my family, but on a line other than my gr-grandfather's. Perhaps one of my British ancestors was not as British as I thought?

Comments?

I wouldn't put too much trust in a smaller than 7cM match on gedmatch on the X chromosome to start with. With that said, do these X matches still come from your grandfather's side?

Comment

This cuts out some, but I still have a few matches around 7-9 cM.

Comment

Hi Siroli,