How does this work?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How does this work?

I just got (initial) BigY700 results for a kit I'm managing. This is my first time going through this, so bear with me if I'm not quite getting it, but: Is it possible that there some additional information that will be posted to my basic results within the next few weeks?

Here's what I mean: I have two BigY700 matches registered who are on different branches of the same subclade. One of them I don't take too seriously because they have a profile on the Big Tree project, and I share none of the SNPs that define their branch under our clade. From what I can tell, it looks like I just share a bunch of low-quality SNPs with them that I can just ignore.

However, the other guy also has a Big Tree profile, and I share 5 SNPs that define their block under the overall clade, so I assume there is something real going on there. There are two problems, though:

1. The Block Tree doesn't yet show us segregated within a new block. I'm not super worried about that because I figure it might take FTDNA a while to update that information. Is that right?

2. My currently published results don't show any results at all for 11 of the 29 SNPs that define this guy's terminal block per the Big Tree. I've checked listings for all reported SNPs, positive, negative and no-call, indexed both by location and name. I've also scoured the web to see if there are alternative names for some of those SNPs--for some reason, the list FTDNA gave me doesn't report locations for all named SNPs. No dice.

Will FTDNA revisit and resolve these important no-calls? Why wouldn't I have reported results for those 11 SNPs? I know for a fact that this guy tested at FTDNA, so I don't understand why they would be missing from my list. Are they really done testing everything?

Just for reference, here are the 11 named SNPs I can't find on my list:
    FGC23348
    FGC23357
    FGC34251
    FGC34252
    FGC34254