Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Hundreds of Y-12 matches, just a few Y-25 and no Y-37... Why?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hundreds of Y-12 matches, just a few Y-25 and no Y-37... Why?

Hi everybody,

I'm new to DNA testing and now I have the Y STR results.
    But I'm a bit puzzled.. I have tons of Y-12 rmatches (distance 0 or more), just a few Y-25 matches (distance 1 or more) and no Y-37 match. How can that be?

Can you clarify that for me?

Thanks,
    -Paul
    Last edited by Paul Bizard; 30th March 2020, 03:58 AM.

I can not clarify it, but I can tell you it does happen. A member of one of my projects has 5,166 12 marker matches. He has 1,156 25 marker matches. He has zero matches at 37 which is as high as he has tested. He is in the predicted R-M269 Haplogroup, a very common Haplogroup. I suggested he join the 'R_R1b All Subclade' project to see if he had any unusual values in the 26-37 marker group. I didn't see any. I also checked for a null marker (a marker without a value reported), I didn't find one.

Just for our information what is your predicted Haplogroup?

Would adding additional markers help? The only way to find out is to upgrade.

I know this doesn't help, but you aren't alone.

Comment

What are the nationalities and origins of your matches, and is Bizard your true paternal line? Sorry to be nosy, but there may be an answer connected to your name.

Comment

It means there isn't anyone on here that's been identified as closely related to you. Most people on the Y12 list are only very, very distantly related to you(if at all, because there may be coincidences). The higher the Y number, the closer the relationship. Everyone on the Y37 list will be on your Y12 list, but not vice versa. I have 10 Y111 matches but 5,500 Y12 matches. I doubt I would have any about Y111.

Comment

Originally posted by ewd76 View Post
          Everyone on the Y37 list will be on your Y12 list, but not vice versa.