No announcement yet.

New to Y-DNA Research... Possible NPE?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Y-DNA Research... Possible NPE?

Good morning,

I'm new to FTDNA Forums, and Y-DNA genetic genealogy. I have a general background in autosomal genetic genealogy and have about 8 years experience in general genealogy and consider myself a moderate-advanced researcher. With this said, I have very little understanding into Y-DNA beyond the different marker amounts tested during testing, and that people generally recommend you start smaller (to a degree) and test further only when needed.

I recently submitted my sample for a Y-37 test, knowing that my general Haplo was RM269, and further DF13. 23&Me's SNP testing gave me the further result of DF13 (CTS241) while my Y-37 through FTDNA gave me the general RM269. I read a bit into convergence, and I'm not certain if what I'm dealing with is R1b/M269 convergence, or a legit NPE.

Firstly, my surname is Green. I have confirmed through autosomal testing that my Green line is legit with no NPEs at least up until my great-great- grandfather, as other descendants match to the appropriate CMs they should. The furthest back I have traced my paternal line is one ancestor further back than him, my ggg-grandfather. Upon receiving my results yesterday, I was surprised to see other surnames matching me closely. I didn't expect many close Greens, as the amount of living Y descendants from my ggg-grandfather would be relatively small, and I figured none had tested to begin with anyway. My ggg-grandfather was allegedly from Sligo Ireland.