Beginner question - y DNA matches without common surname

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner question - y DNA matches without common surname

Hello fellow researchers, I recently tested my Dad who sadly passed away before I got his results. I now have results and am trying to make some sense of them! The y DNA test (37 markers) has revealed 78 matches (at a genetic distance of 3 or 4 ) including 6 exact matches at 25 markers. What puzzles me (and I have done a little reading here..) is that in the whole 78 there is only one person who shares the same surname? (White) Is this to be expected? There are no known adoptions etc. for at least the few generations back that I have some knowledge of.
    There are lots of Mahoneys

Is this unusual?

Secondly, I have had my own family finder and mitochondrial DNA tested and my dad also has had family finder done. Where should he and I match?

Apologies in advance if these are silly questions but any help to get me started would be very much appreciated.

Starting with your second question. He should be your best match.

For you 1st question. Yes it is unusual, but not unheard of. Maybe no one else from his paternal line has tested. Maybe a large group of people from the Mahoney family have tested. During the current sale I suggest you upgrade his Y-DNA to at least 67 markers and add Y-DNA to your kit with a minimum of 67. The two of you should be very close Y-DNA matches, if not exact matches.

Comment