Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

can I get indications regarding Y-DNA with the help of a chromosome reader?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• can I get indications regarding Y-DNA with the help of a chromosome reader?

I am new to this and would need help answering some questions.

Since it is about a father unknown in our tree, an autosomal DNA test (uploaded in family finder and myheritage), a Y-DNA 37 and a Y-DNA 67 is done.

In the family finder I have received thousands of matches but there I cannot see if it is on the father or on the mother's side.

At Y-DNA 67 we have six matches of which one, person Z, I also matched in the family finder. Unfortunately, the genetic distance is 3 and unfortunately there is no access to chromoson readers.

Through the chromosome reader I can see other people "Z" and I match with by triangulation on chromosom no. 7.

I wonder:
    1. Can I assume that the others that I and person Z are triangulated with - that it is a match via Y-dna?

2. Can I somehow get the result of the Y-dna test into a chromosome reader and thus get some indication of whether it is on the father's or the mother's side a match is made?

Both FTDNA and MyHeritage have chromosome browsers for autosomal DNA.

You can use Y-DNA surname projects at FTDNA to compare Y-DNA results. See https://www.familytreedna.com/public...ame=ycolorized for an example. Of course all people being compared must be in the same project to make the compare easy. Y-DNA is not included in autosomal results from FTRNA or MyHeritage.

Comment