Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does my brother have the same father as me?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does my brother have the same father as me?

I have reason to believe my brother and I don't have the same father.

I've already taken the Y-37 test and the AncestryDNA test. Is the best way to learn whether we have the same father for my brother to take the Y-37 test? I suspect that my real father is my father's brother. This is a huge question for us. I'll appreciate any suggestions. I've done a lot of genealogy, but I'm just starting to learn about DNA.

You would learn more if your brother took the AncestryDNA test.

Remember Y-DNA did not nail Thomas Jefferson (apologists said the brother was the culprit), however autosomal DNA did.

Comment

In this case, it is most likely that all involved would have the same Y-DNA, if your father and your father's brother both have the same father.
      Even with your Automal DNA, it's possible for you and your brother to get completely different halves of your fathers Autosomal DNA (even if you do in fact have the same father).

Comment

https://dnapainter.com/tools/sharedcmv4

First, your brother needs to do a FF autosomal test at FTDNA.

And then this great tool by Blaine Bettinger should help. It has been spot-on for me. Your shared cMs will help you to determine whether you are full siblings, or half. People can lie, paper can lie but Dna does not lie. You just have to know how to interpret it.
        Last edited by Biblioteque; 8 December 2018, 06:34 AM.

Comment