Matches vs. relationship

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Matches vs. relationship

I'm a bit new to all of this so forgive me if I am asking a question that "everyone" should know the answer to.

My brother did a y-37 test and I was looking at one of his matches who also did a 37 marker test BUT they only match at 25 with a gd of 1.

It has been suggested to me that there isn't really a relationship there (despite what the relationship calculator in the "tip" box says) so I now I don't know what to think.

Relationship or no?? Do I continue to look at these or ignore them??

Thanks

Originally posted by Sis65 View Post
    My brother did a y-37 test and I was looking at one of his matches who also did a 37 marker test BUT they only match at 25 with a gd of 1.
    There are lots of false matches at 12 and 25, regardless of what TiP says. Only bother looking at the genetic distance and TiP at the highest number markers both people have tested at. In my case, I have 182 matches with a gd of 0 or 1 at 25 markers, but only 1 with a gd of 5 or less at 67 markers and that is the only guy I am related to (last name and genealogy match up).

Comment

Thanks, this is basically what I was told. It is just confusing to me.
      What I mean is that it seems misleading to make it appear as though matches are matches (or a match is a relation -- does that make sense?) when they are not.

I'm sure there are a lot of people just getting started who are confused and/or mislead into thinking that someone is a relation. One would think it would be set up differently.

I (and sorry if it seems like I am venting) suppose there is a reason that someone who, say test 111 markers might want to look at a "match" with someone who tested 12 markers --- maybe someone who knows how to extract deep information using in depth algorithms, ha ha ha ha.
      For the rest of us we are really just trying to make sense of it all and figure out where our dad's came from.