Results interpretation question....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Results interpretation question....

I've received Y-37 results for a 4th cousin whom I've been encouraging to test. Our shared ancestor is our 3rd great grandfather, via direct paternal lines for both of us.
    I had expected an exact match, but instead we have a Genetic Distance of 1, due to a difference at DYS439 (12 for me, 13 for him).
    My questions are these:
    Do the location and numerical values of the mismatch have any relevance or significance? I gather that some locations are more important than other.
    Barring an NPE (highly unlikely in this case)what are probabilities of 4th cousins not being a full match at the 37 level?

Thanks in advance for your help -- and patience. I'm new at this and have much to learn.

You might benefit from reading MMaddi's post today, #4 in this thread. He discusses the average years and generations possible for SNP changes.

Comment

Originally posted by KATM View Post
      You might benefit from reading MMaddi's post today, #4 in this thread. He discusses the average years and generations possible for SNP changes.
      But MarkStickle is asking about STRs, not SNPs. STRs have a higher mutation rate and can relatively easily back mutate. So, what I wrote in the thread you linked to won't answer his specific questions.

The basic answer to his questions is that STRs can only give a rough estimate of "time to most recent common ancestor" (TMRCA), based on average mutation rates. A 36/37 match with a 4th cousin is certainly very plausible, but you could also match 36/37 with a 5th or 6th or more distant cousin. If he wants a more reliable TMRCA, he and the 4th cousin should upgrade to 67 markers. That would as least give him a better estimate of TMRCA, but still no "slam dunk" answer.