Y37 question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Y37 question

Well, I'm new to family DNA. My main reason to get tested was not being able to trace anything beyond my great grandfather on Ancestry.com The results showed a 37 match with an individual.The results indicated we have an 83% likelyhood of sharing a common Ancester within 4 generations and over 95% at 8 generations. The funny thing is we do not share the same last name. I have a german last name ( Shaffer), he has an english last name( Remaley) So is this shared ancester, assuming we are about the same age our common great,great grandfather?
    If this is the case with different last names would our greatgrandfathers both be adopted, one adopted or one or both illegitmate?
    The person that I have a match with has an email address, and Ive sent him 2 messages with no responses to date.
    Another thing that has me confused is the country of origin with my many Y12 relations, they are for the most part from the UK and some from germany. Should it not be the other way around in terms of county of origin?
    I think I am now more confused than I was prior to having the test done!

Originally posted by Ben Shaffer View Post
    Well, I'm new to family DNA. My main reason to get tested was not being able to trace anything beyond my great grandfather on Ancestry.com The results showed a 37 match with an individual.The results indicated we have an 83% likelyhood of sharing a common Ancester within 4 generations and over 95% at 8 generations. The funny thing is we do not share the same last name. I have a german last name ( Shaffer), he has an english last name( Remaley) So is this shared ancester, assuming we are about the same age our common great,great grandfather?
    If this is the case with different last names would our greatgrandfathers both be adopted, one adopted or one or both illegitmate?