YDNA Differences and Family Branches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• YDNA Differences and Family Branches

I am new to Genetic Genealogy although I've done a lot of traditional research. I recently received my 37-marker results and have a couple of questions that I home can be answered by some of you who are more experienced.

My family (Barry) came to Ireland in the 12th century with the Norman-Welsh invasion. Over the next two centuries it evolved into 3 branches. The branch from which I believe I am descended was the one that had the smallest amount of land (in West Cork) and was possibly the smallest in numbers.

In my YDNA matches there are no results that confirm my family's exact place of origin, but there is an interesting patters. On marker DYS388 my value is 11, whereas the great majority of those in the Berry/Barry surname study, and in the Ireland YDNA study have a value of 12 on that marker. For most of my 1-step matches with others sharing my surname that marker is the only difference. I share the 11 repeat value with about 10% of the others in those studies.

What I am wondering is whether it is plausible that the DYS388 value and the branching of the family are related. It is my understanding that DYS388 has a fairly slow mutation rate, so the difference is generally consistent with mutations in the other branches 6 or 7 centuries ago, which is what the family histories suggest.

So my first question is: Does this make any sense at all or am I reading too much into the results?

My second question: I am aware of only one possible male relative in Ireland--a potential fifth cousin. Given the unusual value for the DYS388 marker, do you think that trying to get him to do a 37-marker test would be sufficient to confirm a possible relationship, or should I still opt for a larger number?

Thanks for any thoughts you might have.

Jim Barry