Deep Clade or SNP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deep Clade or SNP

FTDNA have given me a predicted Haplogroup of R1b1a2.

Should I get a Deep Clade test to confirm this and get a more detailed answer or order some specific SNP tests instead.

When I look at my Haplogroup Origins page it shows R1b1a2a1a1b4 for 12, 25 and 67 markers exact match. So does that suggest I am R1b1a2a1a1b4?

I tested on YSearch and found a genetic distance of 4 to a few people who said they are R1b1a2a1a1b4.

My YSearch id is BERJU

I am asuming the answer will be to do the Deep Clade and then look at invididual SNPs. I just don't want to miss out on a short cut in terms of time and cost if it is a possibility.

My motivation is to find out more about the origins of my surname which from my paper trail is Scots/Irish.

I know there are a lot of similar posts asking about Deep Clade but as I am a complete novice at this I can't work out what to do in my situation. Any advice including the most basic would be great.

Thanks

Doing a Deep Clade test will, in my understanding, give your final up to date Haplogroup. No need to test additional SNP's unless more are found in future for that Haplogroup

http://www.familytreedna.com/deepcla...oup-tests.aspx

If you are confident you fall in a certain Haplogroup the cheaper ways is that you can order that SNP test for just $29 plus transfer fee. But if you come back negative it could cost you more in the long run testing individual SNP's.

Have to weigh the pro's and con's

Comment

With a genetic distance of just 4 to multiple people who are R1b1a2a1a1b4, there's a good chance that's what you are too. Log into your FTDNA account and look at FTDNA's haplotree by going to the Haplotree page in the Y-DNA menu at the top of the page. Then click on the orange box labeled "View My Haplotree."