Refining my Y DNA test

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refining my Y DNA test

Orignially posted on Genographic forum, but posting here to see if anyone else can help?

Hi, my name is Hando and I am new to the world of Genomes/DNA I was wondering if you could possibly help me? I would really appreciate this as I am new to all this.

I took the Genographic test and got my YDNA results back as Haplogroup 02. This is nothing new to me. I know I am Korean and both my parents, g parents, ggparents etc are Korean. All that the Genogpraphic test told me was that 30,000 years ago a man in Siberia was my ancestor.

This is too obvious and basic.
    I want to know if there were any other ancestors apart from my 30,000 yo Siberian ancestor in my Y DNA.

For example, I have been told that circa 2000 years ago, my ancestors may have been part of the founders of the Silla Dynasty, which may have been Scythians.

http://www.familytreedna.com/forum/...ight=huns+korea

Are there any tests that can show me if this is true? Are there tests that can show me that apart from my YDNA Haplogroup 02 from 30,000, I had more recent male or female ancestors who came from other parts of the world, such as central asia, europe, africa etc?
    Basically, these would be way after 30,000 and more like 3000, 2000, 1000 etc years ago. And where they originated from?
    Knowing that I had a Siberian ancestor from 30,000 simply isnt enough for me. I want to know more about other ancestors originating from other places and times.

The Genogrpahic Y-DNA test could only identify 1 ancestor (Haplo 02) from Siberia about 30,000 years ago. But this is only just one ancestor and far too distant for me.

I am looking for some kind of test that can identify several other ethnicities (such as the Scythian intruders to Korea 2000 years ago, Huns/HsuingNu 1000 years ago etc) from various other areas of the world and eras.