Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R1b

Hi,

I'm new to the Y forum, I've been busy up to now checking out my MtDNA wich is U2e.

We had a male take the test on my Mother's side of the family our results showed R1b. We have the markers m168, m89, m9, m45, m207, m173, m343.

I understand that this DNA is found in southern England,in parts of Spain and in Ireland 90% of the men share the haplogroup.

Is there anything else anyone can share with me about this haplogroup or it's markers?

Thanks Jonann

Here is a set of haplogroup maps that will show you an approximation of the extent of R1b. It's in a lot more places than the ones you named.

Comment

Originally posted by Jonann
      We had a male take the test on my Mother's side of the family our results showed R1b. We have the markers m168, m89, m9, m45, m207, m173, m343.
      Is there anything else anyone can share with me about this haplogroup or it's markers?
      M343 and the like are SNPs. We usually call 'markers' the numerical values (e.g., 12 or 25 or 37) that can be used to determine how close an individual is to others.

If you went through the Genographic Project, you can create a Family Tree DNA account for free by clicking on the hyperlink called "Learn More" at the bottom of your Genographic page. Once you have a Family Tree DNA account, you can see if any of FTDNA's other customers match your DNA results (and see their ancestral origins), or order further tests, or upload your results to the public Ysearch database. (You can set the name to 'Name Withheld' if you want to remain anonymous.)

Once you have a Ysearch entry, you can post it here and we can give you a better assessment of what it means by comparing it with others in the database.

Comment

And you probably want to look at the haplogroup tree that tells you what those SNP test results you quoted mean. You can find the R haplogroup tree at http://isogg.org/tree/ISOGG_HapgrpR.html