No matches on the 37 marker test.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No matches on the 37 marker test.

I recently took the Family Tree DNA Y-DNA 37 test. At the 25thmarker I came up as an exact match with 21 other people. I had no matches for the 37markers. I’m new to genealogy and DNA testing . The majority people I matched at the 25 test were named either St.Clair or Sinclair. I did not match anyone on the 37 marker test. As far as I know I'm Italian decent on my fathers side of the family. How far back would a common relative be with those 21 matches, back to Ancient Celtic times or more recent?

Any insight would be appreciated.
    Faitocs

Hello,

Your results are definitely a little confusing; the confusion may lay in the search criteria you used. When you go to your 'Matches' screen, try changing the options to the following:

Show matches for: The Entire Database
    For: 37 Markers
    Distance: All

Then click on "Run Report" and have a look at your results... You should still see some Sinclairs or St. Clairs in the results, unless the third panel of DNA markers (26 through 37) are all different from theirs (highly unlikely).

The other reason you may not see any Sinclairs or St. Clairs in the 37 marker results screen is if they did not test more than 25 markers, for some reason.

Also, are you certain that you have 21 exact matches at 25 markers? When you view the 25 marker matches, how many people have a value of "0" in the Steps category (column furthest to the left)? This seems highly unlikely that you would have this many perfect matches, as typically a perfect match at 25 markers indicates that you share a common ancestor with these people only one or two generations ago - therefore, they would all have to be your brothers or male first cousins.

Unless your father or grandfather made copious donations to a sperm bank, this doesn't seem likely lol Let me know what you find out.

Comment