I2a not what I expected

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I2a not what I expected

I'm new to all this, genetic genealogy, had pushed my paper genealogy to the point of dispair, so much work, such little return. DNA seemed to offer another avenue, especially on my father's line, which had slammed into a brick wall in 1780's Cambridgeshire.

Now, I've received my Y DNA results, up to 67 marker, I'm I2a, probably I2a2a dinaric south.

The reason this is a surprise is that, to the best of my knowledge, I2a2a dinaric south is strongest in the Balkans, shading out into Central & Eastern Europe, hardly known in England.

I've joined the I2 haplogroup project, and on their suggestion am having some advanced SNP tests done to verify this.

I'm aware that the most likely reason for having such an unusual haplogroup in my family is that somewhere along the line a different male introduced
    I2a Y DNA into the family tree. Pretty sure it wasn't my parents, but before that?

Got that on the table, but what other options for introduction of I2a2a dinaric south are there, and how long ago did it occur? Any tests, statistical analsys, psychics? The only matches that have been thrown up are very distant, at 7 on the 67 marker, which possibly could be 350 years to a common ancestor, probably longer.

My expectations were to be part of the common haplogroups of the British Isles, maybe Saxon or Viking. The result I got (so far, it could change) was so far out there it caused me to doubt my genealogy research, and I don't really know if I'm asking for suggestions, or reassurance.

Doesn't help there is no surname project.

Anyhow, thanks for reading this

A

I think that ,with a few exceptions, that most haplogroups cannot be assigned to any particular country or region. I discovered this when I surprisingly tested as L21 , mostly associated with the Irish and the UK. I am quite French.