Question about matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about matches

I'm just getting started in the world of Y-DNA testing, and have a couple of questions about my father's Y-DNA matches. Is it correct that every one of my dad's matches is related to him through another male? I realize the Y chromosome tests exactly that...the male lineage. But, is it safe to assume that I should rule out any females that might have had a surname that appears on his highest matches' lists..anywhere down the line? I guess I don't understand how all of his matches COULD be related to him, if not directly on his father's line. Any insight is appreciated.

Originally posted by lanajane View Post
    I'm just getting started in the world of Y-DNA testing, and have a couple of questions about my father's Y-DNA matches. Is it correct that every one of my dad's matches is related to him through another male? I realize the Y chromosome tests exactly that...the male lineage. But, is it safe to assume that I should rule out any females that might have had a surname that appears on his highest matches' lists..anywhere down the line? I guess I don't understand how all of his matches COULD be related to him, if not directly on his father's line. Any insight is appreciated.
    I'm not quite sure about your question - where are the females that you're talking about? In your existing tree? If so.. if its an unusual surname, or the geographical location is precise and you know you have some family from that area, it might be a hint to look for something around there, but it depends on a lot of coincidental circumstances...

In terms of how people could be related, it depends on the level of a match - if you've got a 12-marker test, they are possibly only related in terms of thousands of years, not in the last few generations.

Comment