Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• STR Match, SNP Mismatch

I'm new to this, and would appreciate comments on the following scenario:

I have a fairly close STR match--TMRCA between 300 and 500 years.

We share an unusual value on one marker (DYS388=11), found in only about 0.5% or men.

I am L2+ but he is L2-.

Does the difference in haplogroups mean that we are not paternally related and that the STR match is a statistical fluke?

Thanks for any clarification.

Jim

Originally posted by jbarry6899 View Post
    I have a fairly close STR match--TMRCA between 300 and 500 years.Jim
    Do you have a Y-Search ID for your match? What is your genetic distance on 67 markers?

Comment

STR Match, SNP Match

He is not on YSearch and has tested only to 37 markers. We match within 1 step at 25 and more than 4 at 37.

Jim

Comment

STR Match, SNP Match

Further--we match of 33 of 37 markers, but 2 of the mismatches (GD=3) are on CDYa and CDYb, which I understand are very rapidly mutating.

Does this make a difference?

Jim

Comment

Originally posted by jbarry6899 View Post
          I'm new to this, and would appreciate comments on the following scenario:

I have a fairly close STR match--TMRCA between 300 and 500 years.

We share an unusual value on one marker (DYS388=11), found in only about 0.5% or men.

I am L2+ but he is L2-.

Does the difference in haplogroups mean that we are not paternally related and that the STR match is a statistical fluke?

Thanks for any clarification.

Jim
          Because you belong to two different subclades, the marker values are coincidental. Your common ancestor probably lived thousands of years ago. If you haven't done so already, you should join the project for your haplogroup, and perhaps the administrator(s) of the project can give you an estimate as to when the two subclades diverged.

Comment

sTR Match, SNP Match