Big Y - beyond the terminal snp?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big Y - beyond the terminal snp?

so..... 11 very long months (yes, eleven, i do not want to talk about it) after ordering my father's Big-Y, the results finally came in today.
    R-YP450 (green) was given as the terminal snp, there are however a few more downstream (blue). does that mean he was not tested for those?

YDNA_R-YP450.jpg

I am just learning myself, but I think those are your private variants. Those are the SNPs found for him which no one else has. If another person tests and has one of those, then a new terminal SNP will be defined for your father and that person.

Big Y may cost a lot, but it is a test which keeps on giving (in many cases).
    Last edited by georgian1950; 31 March 2020, 02:56 PM. Reason: spelling

Comment

Originally posted by georgian1950 View Post
      I am just learning myself, but I think those are your private variants. Those are the SNPs found for him which no one else has. If another person tests and has one of those, then a new terminal SNP will be defined for your father and that person.
      i think i understand what you are saying...? or not. (this is very new to me, sorry.) however, if i understand correctly, the blue are named subs and then there are as yet unnamed private variants within those? the info given in the block chart states that there are 1 to 2 participants for each of the blue subs, so they have been tested for those however they did not apply to my father... i am very confused.

Comment

Originally posted by Kohlehydrat View Post