Who to test on Big Y 700?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who to test on Big Y 700?

I have my Dad, Myself and my son all tested to Y-111. If I did the Y-700 test which one of us should I test? Should it be my son since he is the youngest ( most recent generation) or would it matter? I am not sure that it's not a total wast of money for me. I am no expert and may not understand the results when I get them,

My surname is Burford and we have Y DNA matches to other Burford's that go back to our most recent male ancestor that was born in 1684. There is a Willis family that the Burfords all match at Y-111. They can trace their Willis line back to the mid 1700's. It's obvious that we have the same common ancestor not too far back since we all match at Y-111. I even match some of the Willis's closer than some of the Burfords. One of the Willis men just ordered the Y-700 test so if I ordered it would it we would have a Burford compared to a Willis on Y-700. Would this tell me about when our common male ancestor was?

Larry

Your Dad. He is two generations closer to the common ancestor than your son.

Comment

RE Would this tell me about when our common male ancestor was?
      IMHO it will give you some strong clues to how far back the MRCA lived but it will not be definitive. Sort of + or - 100 to 150 years or so.

Comment

Thanks for the replies.

Comment

Originally posted by JSW View Post
          RE Would this tell me about when our common male ancestor was?
          IMHO it will give you some strong clues to how far back the MRCA lived but it will not be definitive. Sort of + or - 100 to 150 years or so.
          It can be worse than that. @Y500 I have different results from my father on three SNPs. This underscores the importance of testing the oldest generation possible, as there are fewer chances for a mutation event to appear. Because Y700 tests more SNPs, you have even more chances for non-matching SNP events.