Big Y SNP mutation rate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Big Y SNP mutation rate

Hi All. I got my Big Y results recently through FTDNA, unfortunately however I am a bit of a novice when it comes to Genealogy.

My Big Y result has resulted in a match with one other person in Haplogroup D. According to the results we:

* Share 498 novel variance
    * Have 26,724 matching SNPs
    * But we have 3 known SNP differences: CTS1530 PF2000 Y1251

I have read an article amount the mutation rate for Ashkenazi Levites at https://sites.google.com/site/levite...kenazi-levites

where on average an SNP mutation occurs once every 150 years. Does anyone know if this mutation rate is specific to the Levites due to a shared history or is this a rough guide for all SNP mutation rates? Does my result of 3 known SNP differences mean that the person I am matched with share a common ancestor between 90 to around 450 years? (90 because we can trace our genealogy back to a maximum of 3 - 2 generations) Also, I have read else where that the rate of mutation on the Y Chromosome differs from area to area. How does this affect SNP mutations rather than markers?

The rule-of-thumb that one reliable SNP occurs every 150 years applies to both known and novel SNPs. But there are so many caveats that...

I strongly suggest that you ask FTDNA for your BAM file (raw data) and submit it to YFull for analysis. yDNA haplogroup D is rare among FTDNA customers, but YFull's D haplotree has 5 regular customers as well as many research samples.

YFull's 5 customers in D come from:
    the Philippines
    Ukraine
    Kazakhstan
    Japan
    One has undeclared ancestry.

The guys from Ukraine and Kazakhstan have an estimated TMRCA of only 1550 years.

Comment