Zero step mtDNA match

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Zero step mtDNA match

Hi, I'm very new to the world of DNA testing, so I would be very grateful for some insight on the following dilemna.
    My paternal uncle recently tested and got a zero step match on his mtDNA results. I was contacted by this match (as I am the email contact for my uncle) who was very anxious to establish the relationship, as he was adopted and had drawn a blank until now on his mother's line.
    Both my uncle and I are very anxious to help him, however we could not find a likely candidate on the recent female line. It then struck me that as we had all 3 taken the Family Finder test that we should match on that test - but we didn't, at all. My uncle and I show up as close relatives as you would expect, but the gentleman in question doesn't match either of us.
    I was given to understand that a zero step match on mtDNA indicates a very close relationship, but maybe this was wrong information?
    Thanks for any help

On your last question on whether this is wrong information -- I believe it depends on the haplogoup. In my case I already got 88 zero step matches and the list is growing. None helped in getting any closer to actual genealogical connections.

G
    Y - R1b1a2 (waiting for Geno 2.0)
    mt - k1a1b1a

Comment

An exact match (0) in FMS means FTDNA feels you are related within the past 16 generations (16 gen x 25y/gen = approx. within last 400 years) with a 90% confidence interval.

Due to DNA recombination also keep in mind the following as the further back you go the less likely you will share the same DNA of ancestor.

Family Finder Matching
      Relationship Match Probability
      2nd cousins or closer > 99%
      3rd cousin > 90%
      4th cousin > 50%
      5th cousin > 10%
      6th cousin and more distant Remote - typically less than 2%