Refining Genographic Test results

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refining Genographic Test results

Hi, I need your advice please. I took the Genographic test, but its too basic. I need to know what other tests I can take which will give me more info on less ancient ancestries and also where these ancestors came from. By less recent I mean eg. 2000, 3000, 4000 years ago, not so recent as 150 years ago, since I know about my ggparents etc.

I am new to all this, but have been reading posts here about people with results form DNA Tribes, ethnoancestry, Oxford Ancestors etc. Should I take any of these? Will the FamilyTree Y DNA 67 or 37 marker test?

I took the Genographic test and got my YDNA results back as Haplogroup 02. This is nothing new to me. I know I am Korean and both my parents, g parents, ggparents etc are Korean. All that the Genogpraphic test told me was that 30,000 years ago a man in Siberia was my ancestor.

This is too obvious and basic.
    I want to know if there were any other ancestors apart from my 30,000 yo Siberian ancestor in my Y DNA.

For example, I have been told that circa 2000 years ago, my ancestors may have been part of the founders of the Silla Dynasty, which may have been Scythians according to a recent forum poster here.

http://www.familytreedna.com/forum/s...ght=huns+korea

Are there any tests that can show me if this is true? Are there tests that can show me that apart from my YDNA Haplogroup 02 from 30,000, I had more recent male or female ancestors who came from other parts of the world, such as central asia, europe, africa etc?
    Basically, these would be way after 30,000 and more like 3000, 2000, 1000 etc years ago. And where they originated from?
    Knowing that I had a Siberian ancestor from 30,000 simply isnt enough for me. I want to know more about other ancestors originating from other places and times.
    Thank you
    Hando