Help!!! Heplogroup W

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help!!! Heplogroup W

Hi, I am totally new at all this. I am african american and trying to fill in some of the missing gaps of my lost ancestry. Now that I have the 1st DNA results...whats the next step logically....?? Thanks "Penny"

Originally posted by Penny
    Hi, I am totally new at all this. I am african american and trying to fill in some of the missing gaps of my lost ancestry. Now that I have the 1st DNA results...whats the next step logically....?? Thanks "Penny"
    Are you able to have your dad, your brother, or one of your dad's brothers tested for y-dna?

That would be helpful.

Sorry I can't be of more help. I'm new to this stuff myself.

Were you in Batch 147 by any chance?

Comment

Batch 147 ????

Thanks, Yes, I can have my paternal father tested. What is batch 147??? Please pardon my ignorance at all this... I have no immediate family and only met my father late in life so I really want to research this. I know that I have a great grandmother on my fathers side that was (Native American-Cherokee), and there is a lot of Irish (from slavery I presume). My results of the initial DNA are puzzling. I should probaly search my fathers surname Marable which was from a plantation owner.

Comment

Have you uploaded your results to MitoSearch, and looked for near-matches?

Keep in mind that the mtDNA test only looks at what you inherited from your mother's mother's mother's mother...

If you could convince your brother or father to submit a yDNA test, you could then get a higher-precision idea of the heritage from your father's father's father's father...

Comment