First post and match

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First post and match

Hey folks, I'm totally new to all of this and find it very interesting and exciting. I have done my testing and have gotten my results back. It is exciting because I got a 12/12 match on my paternal side and I also got a HVR1 & HVR 2 match on my maternal side.

Sadly, however, the paternal's side email address is no longer valid and the maternal side has not responded to emails.

I find it all interesting, because I would think that someone that is interested enough to have a DNA test done, then they would be someone who has worked on their genealogy for some time and hit road blocks along the way. For me, that has been for over 20 years, so the prospect of two possible matches for me was exciting to hear.

The paternal side is in the project that I am in, so I have some starting information that I will try to research on my own for a bit. My maternal side match, however, I have no idea.

Is there a way to find out what possible project this person was in on the maternal side? I've done the mitosearch and it seems that it is the very same person and email address that has not responded. Any other thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Stray,
    I have ran into the same problem. A lot of the people doing research will accept your information and you never hear from them again. We posted some of our DNA results on YSEARCH and someone had an exact match…but… They posted their results on another WEB site, they blocked all surnames that would be of any value. Of course we have no way to contact them. This caused me to stop sharing our information. It looks like National Geographic will end up with most of the DNA test results, they do not have surnames though. Good Luck. dc

Comment

Originally posted by Stray