What do markers REALLY tell you?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do markers REALLY tell you?

I'm new to this and understand the concept of markers/mutations. My problem understanding is what do markers really tell you? You all seem so knowlegeable about this.

They are "junk" in that in themselves most do not reveal anything. But the more markers you have in common with another person, the more closely you are related.

All or nearly all of your markers have to be identical if there is any hope of matching family trees with another person.

This whole field of study was not originally intended for family history research. It was for population studies. So what the smart people (I'm not one of them) are doing is really a pioneering effort, like the first people to put internal combustion engines into carriages.

Some researchers do not care about finding living people to whom they are related, and only care about the populations from which they are descended. And vice-versa.

Jim

Comment

Junk in our trunk...

Originally posted by Jim Honeychuck
      They are "junk" in that in themselves most do not reveal anything. But the more markers you have in common with another person, the more closely you are related.

All or nearly all of your markers have to be identical if there is any hope of matching family trees with another person.

This whole field of study was not originally intended for family history research. It was for population studies. So what the smart people (I'm not one of them) are doing is really a pioneering effort, like the first people to put internal combustion engines into carriages.

Some researchers do not care about finding living people to whom they are related, and only care about the populations from which they are descended. And vice-versa.

Jim