Genetic Distance vs Steps

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Genetic Distance vs Steps

I am a little new to the terminology here and a bit confused. What is the difference between genetic distance and steps.

When I do a matches search I have no matches at one step of 12 markers, but when I go into Haplogroup origins I have heaps of people with a genetic distance of one in the same 12 markers. How does that work.

I could be wrong but I believe that steps and genetic distance are the same thing .
    I have always been confused over the same issue.
    We get matched ( or not matched ) with people who use this site for DNA testing . Haplogroup origins is a database populated by other testing sites and and is being used as reference. So they are not avaiable for contacting.
    My belief is this is the difference , but not 100% sure.

Comment

Originally posted by Brunetmj View Post
      Haplogroup origins is a database populated by other testing sites and and is being used as reference.
      To clarify this...

Haplogroup Origins & Ancestral Origins do include samples from certain scientific/academic studies in addition to FTDNA customers. However, they do not include data from other commercial testing companies.

To answer the original question...

GD & Steps is the same thing. FTDNA primarily shows only exact 12/12 matches on your Matches page. The only exception is 1-step (11/12) matches who are in the same project(s) as you will be shown as well. Any 1-step matches who are not in the same project as you will not be shown.

On the other hand, the Haplogroup Origins & Ancestral Origins pages show 1-step matches from the entire database.

So you may very well see more matches on the Origins pages than you see on your Matches page.

Elise

Comment

So you may very well see more matches on the Origins pages than you see on your Matches page.
        I don't want to hijack the op's thread but I think this question relates to it.