It's DNA, not Speculation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It's DNA, not Speculation

I began my entry into the world of genealogy at the age of 42 after finding out I was adopted. Since then, I've discovered my nationality and have been piecing together whatever history I can. I'm no DNA expert and have no aspirations of being so, but have learned a few things along the way that may be of help to others. So here are few brief observations. You may find some humorous.

1) It's a DNA test!
    Excuse me, but it's a DNA test, not a Google search. Life can be full of surprises. If someone shows up in your Relative Finder/Family Finder or whatever match you'd like to call it, like it or not, they are relatives. You can deny it if you want to, but like 'Like Madea says, "DaNA don't lie.'

2) History
    This was one of my favorite classes in school, and I'm still partial to it to this day. I can't tell you how many wonderful accounts relatives have shared with me that have put a face on what I learned and enriched it. It's one thing to read about something in a book, but to hear it as handed down in family history is quite rich. Just like life, history in itself is both good and bad, but simply something that has happened. Understand it, acknowledge it, but realize that what you do with the relationships between you & people who are now your relatives is entirely up to you.

3) Get over yourself.