X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Uprades for y-DNA?

Hi,

I'm new to FTDNA.
    I'm going to do (at least) an y-DNA test tomorrow.

I'm Haplogroup R1a1a1.

Probably I'll start with 37 or 67 markers.

Questions is: Of course there's an upgrade to 111. But I think there are also some additional SNPs that could be tested? Is this deep clade testing?

How pricey is a single SNPs? How many of them could be tested?
    How pricey is a whole deep clade testing, if something like that exists?

Welcome!

Out of curiosity, how do you already know what your haplogroup is? Have you already tested your strs with a different company? If so, I would probably start with the deep clade/snp program with FTDNA.

If you can provide us with more information perhaps we can help you to find an answer that better serves your overall goals.

Comment

Originally posted by Zaru View Post
      Out of curiosity, how do you already know what your haplogroup is? Have you already tested your strs with a different company?
      Pascal has a 23andMe account.

That would mean, he already had a 67 Marker Y-DNA test done plus FGS mtDNA plus autosomal DNA done with 23andMe. (I think all this is included in that "All Inclusive" thing)

Technically, the only thing that would be of interest is, testing for new subclades of R1a1a1 every few month or so. Question is, who should do that? (I dont know if 23andMe offeres this at all. I have an account with both and check Y-DNA stuff usualy with FTDNA)

EDIT: Hmm. I just checked and dont realy know what 23andMe tests with the Y-Chromosome (how many markers and where you can check the results at all). *scratch head* DIdnt take too much interest into that part because I already had a FTDNA account. Hmm.
      Last edited by Daniel72; 31 July 2011, 10:46 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by Daniel72 View Post