Ancestral vs. Matches

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ancestral vs. Matches

I've got a couple of 37 exact matches, one with a surname that is likely mine (I was adopted) and one with connections to the first surname and from the same area.

That surname indicates strong welsh/scots background but I don't show much from that in the ancestral origins charts in mta high res--0.5% in Wales, .5 UK and .4 Scotland, whereas I'm at 1.5% for Danish.

The highest percentage I show in the y chart is Wales but a non-significant .2 at 12 markers, .3% at 25 and .1 at 37. Everything else is .1 or less. I'm in haplogroup R1B1A2.

So, what is my european ancestry? Or better put, what does it all mean??

thanks.

I don't see a R1b1a2

Is that predicted or from a deep clade test?

If you didn't take a deep clade test (I'm not an expert like a few others here on the post are when it comes to haplogroups but...) I'd recommend that instead of looking at the ancestral origins page. just my 2 cents worth.

Comment

Ok nevermind my question. I found r1b1a2 here but its not on FTDNA that I can see...

http://www.isogg.org/tree/ISOGG_HapgrpR.html

Comment

I didn't do deep clade? I went to the Isogg site but don't know what any of that means.

Comment

Originally posted by Freep View Post
          I've got a couple of 37 exact matches, one with a surname that is likely mine (I was adopted) and one with connections to the first surname and from the same area.

That surname indicates strong welsh/scots background but I don't show much from that in the ancestral origins charts in mta high res--0.5% in Wales, .5 UK and .4 Scotland, whereas I'm at 1.5% for Danish.

The highest percentage I show in the y chart is Wales but a non-significant .2 at 12 markers, .3% at 25 and .1 at 37. Everything else is .1 or less. I'm in haplogroup R1B1A2.

So, what is my european ancestry? Or better put, what does it all mean??

thanks.