I must be a DNA pioneer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I must be a DNA pioneer

I'm totally new to genealogy, not to mention DNA testing... and I went cold turkey and bought the superDNA package (and the Family Finder test). I can't think of any better way to spend one's money.

I contemplated hiring a professional genealogist to break through my wall, which is a mysterious gg grandfather on my direct paternal line who was not only orphaned as a child, but lived separate lives and identities. But the potential costs of hiring one (likely $1000+) and the high probability of that person coming up empty just didn't seem too feasible. Taking a DNA test seems like a much cheaper route (even though I would likely still need to find records in the event that I did have a good match).

I'm just excited about the many possibilities that may (or may not) happen when I get my results (not sure how quickly the turnaround will be once I send back the vials). I haven't a solid idea on what my haplotype on my paternal side will end up being (although I'm predicting a Highland Scot or Irish descent). For that matter, I'm not quite sure what my haplotype will be on my maternal side either (I'm predicting an Asian/Oriental marker).

In the event where I don't get any [good] matches, I have no problem being one of the early DNA pioneers for my type. Perhaps it may encourage others to follow my lead. At least the information is there for a future potential match to come along and bite the bait, so to speak.

Hmmm... this is starting to resemble something more like online dating, except it's primarily with cousins.

Originally posted by gijoeinfinity View Post
    I'm totally new to genealogy, not to mention DNA testing... and I went cold turkey and bought the superDNA package (and the Family Finder test). I can't think of any better way to spend one's money.