R1a1 Haplogroup Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R1a1 Haplogroup Question

Just having received my first panel of 12 results, I was wondering if others here who are R1a1 have received a 15 in the 393 allele? (And I'm a newbie, so please excuse if I've posted this in the wrong place, or have my terminology slightly confused.)

A 15 is pretty rare.

http://www.yhrd.org/Research/Loci/DY...p&locus=dys393

Comment

Many thanks for your reply and the link. On this first round of results, I have only a couple of exact matches in England, and to three others with my surname in America. That's it. On the next level out (2-step mutations), I have very few matches either, with single matches in Scotland, the United Kingdom, England, Germany, Iceland, Kazahkstan and Poland.
      I suppose I thought there might be more matches in the first results, but I think it's a somewhat rare haplogroup in the British Isles, where my ancestors came from.

Comment

Originally posted by RussellL View Post
        Many thanks for your reply and the link. On this first round of results, I have only a couple of exact matches in England, and to three others with my surname in America. That's it. On the next level out (2-step mutations), I have very few matches either, with single matches in Scotland, the United Kingdom, England, Germany, Iceland, Kazahkstan and Poland.
        I suppose I thought there might be more matches in the first results, but I think it's a somewhat rare haplogroup in the British Isles, where my ancestors came from.
        You might try to make a YSearch account.

One can also pretty nice toy around with http://www.yhrd.org too.

I checked where in Europe a DYS393=15 is most common.

Its England, Gotland (Swedish island), Blekinge (southern coast of Sweden) and the north of Austria.

Comment

Thank you again for the link as well as the guidance. This is all new to me so any tips are much appreciated.

Comment