Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Timeline Question

Hi!

I just received my mtDNA results and are curious about someting.
    I belong to haplogroup T2, and I have the understanding that my mutations happened about 40.000, 60.000, 80.000 (and so on) years ago.

First: I do not want to start a bible/creation vs. science debate here, I already found that thread...

But, I'm just really curious about some science facts:
    1. What is it in the research of the DNA (mt/Y) mutations that tells the scientists that this mutation must have happend about 40.000 years ago? Not 10.000 or 100.000 years ago. And that the previous mutation was 60.000 years ago?
    2. Why is it, from a scientist's point of view (and when looking upon the DNA evidence), impossible that all this mutations happened during the "biblical" 6.000 years (or about 4.000 years--since Noah's flood...)?

I'm not a scientist myself, so I might need the "dumbed down" version, but try me

Thank you
    Last edited by hydra; 25 March 2008, 09:41 AM. Reason: spelling

hydra:

the "age" of mutations are estimates. That is, scientists have estimated that on average there is one mutation in HVR1 every 20,000 years. So 3 mutations mean an average of 60,000 years. But of course this is just an average. By chance, a couple of mutations can happen within a few thousand years, or equally by chance we could have no mutations for 50,000 years.

By looking at the entire mtdna (rather than just at HVR1), one can perhaps get a more precise estimate, because the entire mtdna contains many more mutations. But still, these are just estimates.

Now, as for which mutation happens when, this can be sometimes established by constructing a genealogical tree, so to speak. Mutations higher up in the tree must have happened earlier. Eg., suppose that there is a mutation that only your family has; then this must have happened recently. Instead, a mutation that all T people have must have happened earlier in the past.