Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie to DNA Needs Some Advice Please

Hi Guys

I'm new to DNA and I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

My Grandfather's Father was born in South Africa or so we are led to believe. There is a strong rumour that we have black blood in the family.

My Grandfather's Father was white and we are unsure of his routes.

After watching BBC 1's Who do you think you are with Colin Jackson it gave me an idea to have my Grandfather tested. This would dispel all the family myths once and for all.

Now the advice I seek is what kit do I opt for?

I think the ethnic kit would be best as it gives a percentage of what a person is made up of.

What do you guys think and where is the best place to obtain a kit from?

Thankyou

Paul

I'm not a fan of DNA Print, and I've never taken it, because I don't think there's any such thing as such-and-such a percentage of this and that.

Also, let's say your results turn out 10% Sub-Saharan African. Your next question will be, is that statistically valid? And you would want to know where in Africa the alleged match is.

But with DNA Tribes, you would get (or not) a match score to Sub-Saharan Africa, plus scores for any matches to specific populations. You're interested in South Africa. There must be at least six South African populations in the DNA Tribes reference database: http://www.dnatribes.com/pops-africa.html

Jim
    no affiliation with either of these companies

Comment

Why not start with a combined test from FamilyTreeDNA that would determine your GF's ancestral Y and Mt DNA haplogroups. Then, if you wish, you could get one or both of the Autosomal Panels from the same sample. Panel One is that employed by DNATribes. After you have FTDNA run the panel you just send the numbers to DNAT. Or you can research the markers on your own and arrive at your own estimate of percentages of ancestry.

Comment

Thanks for the replies Jim & Tomcat.