Finding Bio family for grandparent

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finding Bio family for grandparent

All of my grandparents were dead before I was born. I think it is what sparked my interest in genealogy. I have been researching using traditional methods for 20+ years. I decided to add genetic genealogy a few years ago to help with a brick wall on my paper tree. I have been focused on that project and really didn't do much with my other lines. After I solved my brick wall, I started sorting my matches. I have tested my two brothers and my mother as well as myself. I have 3 cousins on mom's side that have tested. While sorting I was able to find DNA matches outside my known family (cousins, brothers, and mom) for all of my grandparent lines except for my maternal grandfather. His was one of the first lines I researched because no one knew anything. He hopped a freight train at 14 and never returned home. He came from a large family and all the children had many children. It is odd that I can't find one match beyond our immediate family.
    It leads me to think that grandpa Paul was not the bio child of that family I have researched on paper. I should add there are a ton of DNA matches to mom that I don't have a clue how they are related.
    I have watched a ton of videos on finding bio family but they all start with 1st & 2nd cousins. I have 4th cousin matches with very few trees. To complicate matters I have found some matches are matching both my mom and dad's side. On paper that is not possible. BUT if grandpa Paul has a whole other bio family it is possible. What options do I have? I have been attempting to build trees for all of these people but that will take me an eternity. No one has responded to messages sent. I have even traveled to grandpa Paul's place of birth (at least on paper) trying to get more information. I didn't find anything new. It is 5 states away. sigh!