DNA Footprint?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DNA Footprint?

Newbie here looking for advice/guidance please. I have never seen this question asked before and don't even know if it is feasible or how it might help but here goes...

I am on the hunt for my unknown Paternal Grandparents. Although I have proven 1st and 2nd cousin Maternal DNA matches, unfortunately apart from myself I have no proven Paternal matches. I do have matches who do not match my known Maternal matches. The highest at 396 Cm and another at 248 Cm. They also match each other. As is usual for me in my research they were both adopted and know nothing of their biological parents. My question is this -

Can I use these matches, and further matches that triangulate to them, to build a much larger Paternal DNA footprint that I can then use to compare other unknown matches to? Perhaps using DNA painter?

Your two mystery matches are close enough to you (on the order of first cousin once removed or half first cousin) that you may be able to narrow the possibilities. There are only so many family trees that could generate relationships this close, particularly given that they don't match your maternal matches. For example, if you assume that your mystery matches are from you maternal side, are there any possible family trees that could lead to the result that both of them don't match you or any of your maternal relatives? (It is very rare to find a non-match for any relationship closer than third cousins.) Are there any segments that you share with your two mystery matches that don't match a segment at the same location that you share with one of your maternal relatives? You may have enough evidence to prove that your mystery matches are indeed from your paternal ancestry.