Surprsingly no match

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surprsingly no match

My second cousin and I have been researching our common ancestry for many years. Her paternal grandfather and my maternal grandmother were siblings. We both did DNA tests recently with MyHeritage and when I compare the results I get 'No shared DNA segments found'. Does this mean that we don't share any parentage at all? I find that hard to believe. I can't conceive that my mother was not the woman who brought me up, nor that her mother wasn't my grandmother. I could accept that her father might not have been the person we thought he was, but her mother as well? Surely not. If we shared the great-grandmother, wouldn't that show in the DNA? Was she adopted? Most unlikely as that had several other children, all spaced out as you would expect. Her uncle left money her and her three siblings in his will, and refers to them as his nieces and nephews. No suggestion anywhere that one of them was adopted. Might there be some other explanation?

How are you comparing the results, if there are no shared segments? If they truly didn't share segments, that should mean that neither of you show in the other's match list. Have you downloaded the raw data files and uploaded to GEDmatch, in order to do this comparison?

I don't see a way at MyHeritage to compare two people in the Chromosome Browser, unless they are a DNA match and appear in the match list. Perhaps there is a glitch at MyHeritage, causing it to show your shared segments with your 2nd cousin incorrectly. Have you contacted them to see if they can help?
    Last edited by KATM; 3rd May 2019, 10:19 AM.

Comment

Sorry, I should have made clear I uploaded both kits to GedMatch. That's where I get the 'No shared DNA' message. On reflection, my grandmother having been adopted is out of the question as I have her birth certificate.

Comment