Y-DNA Close Cousins Don’t Match

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Y-DNA Close Cousins Don’t Match

I am new to DNA testing, so please forgive me if a question like this has already been asked. I couldn’t find it in a search.

If two known 1C1R are DNA tested, shouldn’t they both have the same y-DNA haplogroup?

The situation is this: Two brothers – Bob & Joe (both now deceased) - grew up believing they were full siblings. However, autosomal DNA results don’t show any known paternal side matches between them – only maternal matches.

Bob’s son was tested several years ago at 23 & Me, and his y-DNA haplogroup was listed as R-L21. Joe’s grandson (the son of Joe’s son) did the Genographic test by National Geographic a couple of years ago, and his paternal line deep ancestry was listed as J-M92.

I realize there may be differences in the results between two different testing companies, but shouldn’t these known close cousins at least share the same letter (either R or J)? Does a result like this mean Bob & Joe did not have the same father after all?

Thanks for any light you can shed on this.

What is the total cM shared between the two?

Haplogroups could be incorrect due to number of yDNA SNPs used to determine haplogroup subclade.
    23andmeV4 test tested approx 2,329 yDNA SNPs
    National Geographic test tested around 20,000 yDNA SNPs

Depending on Autosomal share amount, National Geographic Haplogroup will be less likely to be incorrect if one companies results are not accurate.

1C1R should share between 141 – 851cM, on average around 439cM
    Half 1C1R should share between 57 – 530cM, on average around 226cM

My opinion would be to do yDNA testing via FamilytreeDNA, if autosomal results are unclear.
    yDNA 37 will show each other as a match if both share the same patrilineal line, as well as give them a basic haplogroup prediction of R-M269 (if both are R-L21) or J-M172 (if both are J-M92)