Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• novice mistrusts FTDNA. any comments?

I will go ahead with the disclaimers first:
    I am just a lay person.. I have very little knowledge of DNA testing, genetics and biology. Additionally I am not the project leader of my surname project.

Recently I asked an FTDNA rep the following question:

Suppose 2 subjects match 37/37. FTDNA's chart tell us that there's about a 95% chance that an MRCA occurs by 7 generations. Suppose these 2 subjects could verify that there were no MRCA in 8 generations in each of their genealogies. Should we assume

a) that there is a greater than 95% that an MRCA occurs in the 9th generation; or in other words, there is a greater than 95% chance that the earliest known ancestor of each of the two subjects were brothers

b) that there is a 95% chance that the MRCA occurs by the 15th generation
    (8 generations with no possible MRCA + 7 generations of potential MCRAs)

c) something other than a or b; Please explain.
    -----

The FTDNA reps' reply was prompt and courteous but, I suspect, not 100% honest.

The rep said there were many things to consider, among these factors were surname and haplogoup. The explanation included considering whether or not the two subject were member of the same haplogroup.....

but I thought the haplogroups were dependant on the test values! would not a 37/37 match, by definition, place the two subjects in the same haplogroup???....

The rep went on for several paragraphs never mentioning how anything related to odds, probabilities or generation ranges in the context of my question. Perhaps I am jumping to conclusions here, but I took that as intentional attempt to confuse a common lay person and avoid the question he asked...........
    ---