Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• autosomal test for mixed race?

I am new to DNA genealogy.

I am a south african coloured [meaning unknown mixed race],in Australia this term isn't used,so I would like to know what I am.

I am considering an admixture/autosomal test.I have heard they are not accurate?

I did my father's genealogy and have a long paper trail to refer to,but only know the 'race' of two of his ancestors
    a g.g.g grandfather john o'reilly [irish] who married a woman[no name] from Zanzibar I was told.
    And my grandmother's father [english-welsh] whose family history/tree I was given.

Whilst I collected the records/death notices/surnames etc for all my father's other ancestors I have to assume that they were mixed race as apartheid was not in and they were not classified as anything it simply says 'union national' they could have been irish-angolans for all I know[!]

I was told some of the lines were swedish,french,irish,japanese by a great uncle but no trace I can connect,african side is unknown johnson mother unknown etc.

My mum who I have'nt traced looks indonesian maybe also indian to me,dad looks white.

I was told asian and african for my mother's line and probably native khoisan,she would have slave ancestry and her mother's surname was german.

I am refered to as looking Mediterian/arab/asian/.

Should I test my father,myself,and my mother? Would doing the Y or Mtdna tests help?

will it break down all those different 'races' into percentages?

I am convinced I have indian [as in from india] ancestry what group would that fall under in the results?
    Last edited by katiecarol; 27 July 2006, 03:43 PM.

katiecarol,

Hi. Let me just start with your autosomal question. The DNA Tribes autosomal test does not yet have reference populations for Irish, Welsh, or French, so save your money.

Your father's Y-DNA might be interesting, but you have a paper trail, so I suppose you don't need that.