Where to start?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Where to start?

Hello, I am BRAND NEW to the world of DNA genealogy and am a bit baffled by it all! I am black (well, I guess that is yet to be determined!) and my husband is white. We are considering adoption and thought it would be outstanding to have an idea as to where our ancestors are from and adopt from that area. We read the article in USA Today and got excited, but, now, after checking different sites online I'm only confused. From reading several posts here I gather that there are "good" companies and "bad" companies. What should we be looking for? Why the huge difference in price (anywhere from $95 to $995!)? Is there a neutral site I can go to to determine which site I should use? Any info/insight would be appreciated!

Thanks!
    Pam~

Originally posted by PamminAlong
    Hello, I am BRAND NEW to the world of DNA genealogy and am a bit baffled by it all! I am black (well, I guess that is yet to be determined!) and my husband is white. We are considering adoption and thought it would be outstanding to have an idea as to where our ancestors are from and adopt from that area. We read the article in USA Today and got excited, but, now, after checking different sites online I'm only confused. From reading several posts here I gather that there are "good" companies and "bad" companies. What should we be looking for? Why the huge difference in price (anywhere from $95 to $995!)? Is there a neutral site I can go to to determine which site I should use? Any info/insight would be appreciated!

Thanks!
    Pam~
    Gary Miller has compared some DNA companies:

http://www.millerfamilyhistory.com/G...Comparison.htm

RootsWeb has a message board with adoptions as a topic. You might find some useful information there:

http://boards.ancestry.com/mbexec?ht...opics.adoption

Comment