So I just got my DNA results back. Now what? Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I just got my DNA results back. Now what? Questions

Joined MyHeritage about a month ago. Sent off my DNA and just got it back today.

I also sent off a 23andMe kit but havent gotten it back yet.

In the meantime I started building my family tree. Of course I understand that I am not a pro genealogist and neither are most who make online trees. That being said, it doesnt seem the DNA and family tree are agreeing too well.

On my family tree I traced back several lines to England (wow, big surprise since my family is from Virginia)

My paternal grandmother was a Dehart which goes back to France (passing through Holland about 10 gens back)

My maternal great grandmothers line goes back to Germany (around 10 gens back)

My maternal great grandmothers line splits off into a Ross line going back to Scotland (10 gens back)

IIRC I saw an ancestor or two from Ireland

My main surname, Williams, I have not been able to trace yet back out of America, but generally the name comes from England and Wales

My maternal grandpa is a Campbell, which I havent been able to trace back but the surname generally comes from Scotland

My maternal grandma's maiden name was Hall but I havent been able to trace that line back. (English, Scottish, Irish, German, and Scandinavian)

My paternal great grandma was a Dodson, which I traced back to England through Jamestown, Va but now I dont really trust the research but in any case the Dodson name is Anglo-Saxon English

Sooooo, I get my DNA results back at it says:

100% European
    -------------
    80.6% English
    13.3% Irish, Scottish, Welsh
    6.1% Scandinavian

So its a little surprising....where is my French and German??

The English/Irish/Scottish/Welch isnt that surprising looking at the surnames and the fact that my family has been mainly in Virginia for 400 years